Governing Body 2023 - 2024

 About School Governors

Governors of a school have legal duties powers and responsibilities within the school to ensure that the school provides the best possible education for all it's pupils. They act together to do this. The governors are involved in all aspects of the school including these main areas:

1. Making decisions about how the school budget is used.

2. Setting standards of behaviour.

3. Making sure that the National Curriculum is being followed.

4. Interviewing and selecting staff for the school.

5. Drawing up the School Development Plan to ensure the school maintains its efficiency.


There are four categories of school Governors:

1. Parent Governors - elected by other parents, they have a child in the school

2. Staff Governors - elected by other members of staff

3. Local Education Authority (LEA) Governors - appointed by the local authority

4. Community Governors - community representatives invited to join the Governing Body and elected by the other members of the body


All Governors serve a term of office of three years from when they start. The start date can be at any time in the academic year.


Community Governor Appointed by Community Council

Cllr Yvonne Forsey

Community Gov appointed by GB

Mr Matt Maughan

Mrs Ruth Thomas

Mr Allan Hyland

LA Appointed

Cllr Yvonne Forsey 

Mr Stephen Bowen

Mr Dilwyn Gurney

Stewart Jones (Minor Authority)




Miss Fiona Rutledge

Parent Representative

Mr Michael Heaton

Marc Wild

Rachael Rusgys

Staff Representative

Mrs Catherine Whitehead

Teacher Representative

Mrs Catherine Smith


Mr Dilwyn Gurney is Chair of Governors